The new Irish cabinet has been named today:

Enda Kenny (Fine Gael) – Taoiseach
Eamon Glimore (Labour) – Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade
Michael Noonan (Fine Gael) – Minister for Finance
Ruairi Quinn (Labour) – Minister for Education and Skills
Brendan Howlin – Minister for Pubic Expenditure and Reform
Richard Bruton (Fine Gael) – Minister for Enterprise, Jobs and Innovation
Joan Burton (Labour) – Minister for Social Protection
Jimmy Deenihan (Fine Gael) – Minister for Arts, Heritage and Gaeltacht Affairs
Pat Rabbitte (Labour) – Minister for Communication Energy and Natural Resources
Frances Fitzgerald (Fine Gael) – Minister for Children
Simon Coveney (Fine Gael) – Minister for Agriculture, Marine and Food
Alan Shatter (Fine Gael) – Minister for Justice, Equality and Defence
Phil Hogan (Fine Gael) – Minister for Environment, Community and Local Government
Leo Varadkar (Fine Gael) – Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport
James O’Reilly (Fine Gael) – Minister for Health
Paul Kehoe (Fine Gael) – Government Chief Whip
Marie Whelan – Attorney General

Interesting that Labour did not get their nose in any Department that has anything to do with Finance or Jobs.

Positive that Richard Bruton and Leo Varadkar are on the list and that Joan Burton was moved away from Finance.

A little surprising that James O’Reilly took the poisoned chalice of the Department of Health.

Surprising that the Department of Defence is gone and the responsibility has been merged with Justice.